Who Does What 2017

Elected Members

The Cwmbran Community Council comprises 19 elected members (“or Councillors.”) The members take all major decisions about the way in which council services are provided and about how events and activities take place. These decisions are usually taken by committees of members. You can find out details of the committees and their membership by visiting our “Council Committees” pages.

Members receive no wages or payments, other than minimal expenses for out of area meetings. They represent the residents of Cwmbran on a ward basis.

The Councils elected members represent their communities at this, our grass roots level.

They raise matters of interest or concern, influence and respond to consultations and manage the Council’s budget.

The Council is consulted on planning applications in its area, as well as other planning and highways/footpaths issues. The Council can also make representations about licensing issues.

In addition to sitting on our various Council committees, our members also represent the Council on over 30 organisations such as school governing bodies and environmental groups. This allows our members to contribute to the well-being of the community through the work of these organisations. The “Outside Bodies” section of this web site provides details of which members sit on which bodies.

You can find out more about each member on our “Your Councillors” pages.


The Council enjoys good relationships with the Local “Unitary” Authority, Torfaen County Borough Council. These relationships are underpinned by a formal CHARTER, which sets out our respective roles and responsibilities and describes some of the ways in which this partnership works. The Council is also a member of One Voice Wales, an umbrella organisations which represents Town & Community Councils across Wales.


The members are supported by a team of permanent staff, whose role is to carry out the decisions of members, managing and providing Council services on a day to day basis.

The team is led by David Collins (Clerk to the Council), who is supported by Clare Facey (Administrative Officer), Sian Redwood (Clerical Officer), Abbie Gillard (Clerical Officer) and Laura Grey (Clerical Officer).  Mike Perry and David Stokes comprise our Community Task Force.  Mike Perry also provides our cleaning and caretaking service.